19 universities set minimum qualification for admission test – Education – observerbd.com

19 universities set minimum qualification for admission test

Nineteen science and technology, and general public universities have fixed the minimum GPA requirement for applying to the combined admission tests of those universities for the next academic session.

Science students will need to have a grade point average (GPA) of 7 combined in SSC and HSC or equivalent tests, business students will need to have GPA 6.5 and humanities students will need GPA 6 while students having a GPA below 3 in any exam will not be able to apply for the test.

The decision came from a meeting of the Vice Chancellors of the university held on Saturday, Jagannath University VC Professor Mijanur Rahman told BSS.

There will be three exams — one each for science, humanities and commerce students — based on the HSC syllabus while students who have passed Higher Secondary Certificate and its equivalent exams this year and 2019 will be eligible for sitting the tests.

Each exam would be 100 marks following the MCQ [Multiple Choice Questions] methods and all 19 universities will be used as venues for the exams.

The tests will be held when the intensity of the Covid-19 reduces, said Mizan.

Each aspirant will get a mark between 0 to 100 and each of the universities will be able to fix a minimum score required for admission to that university.

The universities themselves will decide on whether they would take the SSC and HSC results into their consideration in the admission process, added Mijan.

Mijanur said that it would be the universities’ decision whether to give a chance to second time admission seekers.

On December 1, nineteen public universities finalised that they will enroll students through a combined admission test for the next academic session to reduce hassles of the admission seekers.

The universities are: Islamic University, Shahjalal University of Science and Technology, Khulna University, Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University, Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University, Noakhali Science and Technology University, Jagannath University, Comilla University, Jatiya Kabi Kazi Nazrul Islam University, Jessore University of Science and Technology, Pabna University of Science and Technology, Begum Rokeya University, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University, University of Barisal, Rangamati Science and Technology University, Rabindra University, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Digital University, Sheikh Hasina University, and Bangamata Sheikh Fojilatunnesa Mujib Science and Technology University.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *