By-elections in Dhaka-5, Naogaon-6 begins – National –

By-elections in two parliamentary constituencies–Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6– began at 9am on Saturday.

It will continue till 5:00pm through electronic voting machines (EVMs) without any break.

At the beginning, the voters were seen few in number.

In the Dhaka-5, six MP candidates, including Md Kazi Monirul Islam nominated by AL and Salauddin Ahmed nominated by BNP are there in the electoral race.

A total of 4,71,129 voters –-2,41,464 men and 229665 women – are expected to cast their votes under 187 polling stations in the parliamentary seat comprised of 14 wards ( 48-50, 60-70) of Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) in Demra and Motijheel police stations.

Meanwhile, in the Naogaon-6 Constituency, three MP contenders –Md Anwar Hossain (Helal) of AL, Sheikh Md Rezaul Islam of BNP and Md Khandkar Intekhab Alam of NPP—are there in the polls race.

A total of 3,06,725 voters –1,53,758 men and 1,52,967 women – are expected to vote under 104 polling stations in the constituency comprised of Raninagar and Atrai upazilas.

The Election Commission also clamped restrictions on vehicular movement in the constituencies.

The Dhaka-5 fell vacant following the death of Awami League MP Habibur Rahman Mollah on May 6 while the Nagaon-6 following the death of MP Israfil Alam on July 27.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Our Visitor

Views This Month : 6003
Who's Online : 0