Pro-AL candidates win DUTA polls uncontested

DHAKA, Dec 21, 2020 (BSS) – Awami League backed teachers under
“Blue Panel” has won the Dhaka University Teachers’ Association (DUTA)
polls without contest as no other panel submitted nomination form by
the stipulated time.

Acting Dean of university’s law faculty Prof Rahmat Ullah was
elected as the president while Prof of Institute of Nutrition and Food
Science Prof Nizamul Haque Bhuiyan won the general secretary post.

Prof Zakir Hossain Bhuiyan of marketing department, who was given
the charge of conducting the polls, announced the result this
afternoon at University Teachers’ Club here today.

Prof Sabita Rezwana Rahman of Microbiology Department was elected
as vice-president while treasurer and joint general secretary posts
were won by Prof Akram Hosaain of Management and Information System
Department and Associate Professor Abdur Rahim of Islamic History and
Culture Department respectively.

The elected executive committee members from blue panel are: Prof
Abu Shara Shamshur Rouf, Prof Nisar Hossain, Prof AJM Shafiul Alam
Bhuiyan, Prof Ishtiaque M Syed, Prof M Amzad Ali, Prof Sadeka Halim,
Prof KM Saiful Islam Khan, Prof Muhammad Abdul Moyeen, Prof Chandra
Nath Podder and Professor Ziaur Rahman.

The election was supposed to be held on December 30 this year, but
since no one is contesting for the 15 executive posts, all the
candidates from Blue panel won uncontested, said Prof Zakir Hossain

The order of executive member was set based on lottery as election
did not held, he added.

On December 18 in a press conference, the BNP-Jamaat backed white
panel teachers announced that they would not take part in the election
citing Covid-19 situation and other reasons.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *