DSCC Mayor: Remain alert against communal fundamentalist forces – National – observerbd.com

DSCC Mayor: Remain alert against communal fundamentalist forces

Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) Mayor Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh urged everyone to remain alert until the communal fundamentalist forces are completely wiped out.

“We have seen that the communal fundamentalist forces are active and when they get any chance, they bite people like serpents. They also tried to destroy the spirit of the Liberation War,” he said while talking to reporters after paying tribute to the Martyred Intellectuals in Mirpur, reports UNB.

Taposh, also the member secretary of Bangabandhu Awami Bar Council, said, “We have achieved freedom in exchange for the supreme sacrifices of three million martyrs including martyred intellectuals. Under the leadership of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Bangladesh has come forward and it has set an example by building Padma Multipurpose Bridge with its own funding.”

Seeking salvation of the departed souls of the martyred intellectuals, the DSCC mayor also paid rich tribute to the martyrs.

The nation is observing the Martyred Intellectuals Day to commemorate those intellectuals killed systematically by the Pakistan occupation forces and their local collaborators at the fag-end of the Liberation War in 1971.

On this day in 1971, country’s renowned academicians, doctors, engineers, journalists, artists, teachers and other eminent personalities were dragged out of their homes, blindfolded and taken to unknown places and then brutally tortured and killed.

Their bodies were later dumped at Rayerbazar, Mirpur and some other killing fields in the capital.

Sensing an imminent defeat, the Pakistani forces and local collaborators like Al-Badr, Al-Shams and Razakar forces committed cold-blooded mass murder to annihilate the country’s intelligentsia and cripple emerging Bangladesh intellectually.

Among the martyred intellectuals are Prof Munier Chowdhury, Dr Alim Chowdhury, Prof Muniruzzaman, Dr Fazle Rabbi, Sirajuddin Hossain, Shahidullah Kaiser, Prof GC Dev, JC GuhaThakurta, Prof Santosh Bhattacharya, Mofazzal Haider Chowdhury, journalists Khandaker Abu Taleb, Nizamuddin Ahmed, SA Mannan (LaduBhai), ANM Golam Mustafa, Syed Nazmul Haq and Selina Parvin.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *