By-polls in Dhaka-18, Sirajganj-1 constituencies Nov 12

DHAKA, Sept 28, 2020 (BSS) – The by-elections of Dhaka-18 and Sirajganj-1 constituencies will be held on November 12 as the Election Commission (EC) announced the polls schedule today.

EC secretary Md Alamgir announced the aforesaid by-polls’ date at Election Commission Secretariat Bhaban after a meeting chaired by Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda.

He said the last date of filing nomination papers to the EC is October 13 and voting of the two constituencies will be held on November 12.

According to the polls-schedule, Alamgir said the nomination papers will be scrutinized on October 15 and the last date of withdrawing nomination paper has been fixed on October 22.

He said the voting of the two electoral constituencies will be commenced by using the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) and voting will start at 9 am and continue till 5 pm without break.

Dhaka-18 constituency fell vacant following the death of Awami League lawmaker Advocate Sahara Khatun while Sirajganj-1 constituency fell vacant following the death of ruling party MP, Mohammad Nasim.

Besides, the EC has allocated electoral symbols amongst five candidates of Dhaka-5 constituency by-polls. Returning Officer distributed the symbols among the candidates.

Of them, Awami League candidate Kazi Monirul Haque got ‘Boat’ and BNP candidate Salah Uddin Ahmed got ‘Sheaf of Paddy’, while Jatiya Party backed candidate Mir Abdus Sabur received ‘Langol’ symbol.

The by-polls of Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 constituencies will be held on October 17 through using EVMs.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.