Lynn ends second day of Formula E pre-season testing on top – Formula E


Alex Lynn shot to the top of the times for Mahindra Racing on the second day of Formula E pre-season testing in an afternoon session that featured a simulated race.

The Briton posted his fastest lap after the chequered flag had been waved for the three-hour run at the Circuit Ricardo Tormo in Valencia to set the best time of the day.

His 1m11.941sec effort eclipsed the FE circuit record set in the morning session by reigning champion Antonio Felix da Costa by just 0.007s.

Lynn’s late advances pushed BMW Andretti driver Maximilian Guenther down to second place, with the German sitting 0.208s off the pace but pipping new team-mate Jake Dennis.

Behind Dennis, the Jaguar Racing attack was led by Sam Bird in fourth ahead of Edoardo Mortara’s lead Venturi and the Dragon/Penske Autosport machine of Sergio Sette Camara – who deployed the 35kW attack mode a session-highest five times.

Oliver Rowland headed the Nissan e.dams line-up for seventh place as the second Dragon of Nico Muller ran to eighth.

Muller was the classified winner of a full-length but largely unstructured simulation race.

After a morning vote, teams could opt out of completing the entire 45-minute plus one lap distance, with Rowland and team-mate Buemi having led for the early laps before pitting.

The Nissans’ initial advantage came courtesy of being the first cars to line up in the pitlane in a session that featured a full-course yellow, penalty pitstop and safety car practices.

The run-off area on the outside of the Turn 2 left-hander was used as the attack mode activation zone.

Andre Lotterer, who topped the first day of testing and finished the practice race in third behind da Costa, ended the day in ninth ahead of Venturi rookie driver Norman Nato.

Stoffel Vandoorne was the best-performing Mercedes in 11th, while the two NIO 333 cars of returning driver Tom Blomqvist and Oliver Turvey ran to 12th and 13th.

Six drivers were cautioned for track limits offences under the new restrictions brought in for 2020 at Turns 1, 6 and 10, but it was the first session of four so far not to feature a red flag.

Test times day 2 – afternoon

Pos Driver Team Car Gap Laps
1 Alex Lynn Mahindra Mahindra 1m11.941s 43
2 Maximilian Guenther BMW BMW 0.208s 51
3 Jake Dennis BMW BMW 0.365s 44
4 Sam Bird Jaguar Jaguar 0.374s 46
5 Edoardo Mortara Venturi Mercedes 0.382s 39
6 Sergio Sette Camara Dragon Penske 0.399s 43
7 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.Dams Nissan 0.409s 39
8 Nico Muller Dragon Penske 0.438s 47
9 Andre Lotterer Porsche Porsche 0.505s 49
10 Norman Nato Venturi Mercedes 0.521s 42
11 Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes Mercedes 0.587s 49
12 Tom Blomqvist NIO NIO 0.623s 50
13 Oliver Turvey NIO NIO 0.691s 51
14 Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.Dams Nissan 0.763s 42
15 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche Porsche 0.810s 46
16 Alexander Sims Mahindra Mahindra 0.834s 37
17 Antonio Felix da Costa DS Techeetah DS 1.260s 51
18 Nyck de Vries Mercedes Mercedes 3.049s 53
19 Robin Frijns Virgin Audi 3.319s 21
20 Mitch Evans Jaguar Jaguar 3.563s 40
21 Rene Rast Audi Audi 3.884s 21
22 Lucas di Grassi Audi Audi 4.216s 21
23 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Techeetah DS 4.572s 53
24 Nick Cassidy Virgin Audi 4.810s 13

Autosport has produced a standalone special magazine to celebrate our 70th birthday. All current print subscribers will receive a copy for free. To order your copy of the 196-page Autosport 70th Anniversary issue, please go to:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *