IMSA Petit Le Mans: WTR Cadillac wins after Derani/Taylor collide late on – IMSA SportsCar


Wayne Taylor Racing scored its third Petit Le Mans victory after Pipo Derani and Ricky Taylor collided when battling for the lead with 10 minutes to go.

The Acura Team Penske ARX 05 of Alexander Rossi, Ricky Taylor and Helio Castroneves and the Action Express Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R of Felipe Nasr, Pipo Derani and Filipe Albuquerque had been locked together for much of the final two hours of the race, regularly swapping places.

Taylor followed Derani into the pits for his final stop and, with one lap’s worth less fuel to put in – having previously stopped a lap later – the Penske team sent Taylor out ahead.

However, Derani was in no mood to settle for second and, into Turn 1 two laps later, the AXR Cadillac dived down the inside and grabbed P1.

Again, the pair stayed tied together and, with 10 minutes to go, Taylor dived down the inside of the AXR machine at Turn 6 and the pair collided.

The #31 AXR car was fired off into the gravel, allowing the closing Renger van der Zande to move the WTR Cadillac into the lead and take the victory alongside Ryan Briscoe and Scott Dixon.

This was despite Briscoe having an off with an around an hour to go and dropping back from the leading duo.

Taylor resumed in second after the collision, and race control decided he did nothing wrong, with team-mate Dane Cameron – who had had a separate off moments earlier – taking third.

Tristan Vautier brought the JDC Miller Motorsports Cadillac home fourth, with AXR classified fifth.

It was a race to forget for Mazda as Oliver Jarvis collided with a GTD Ferrari at half-distance and dropped out of contention, while Cameron also went off at the same time and needed to pit for repairs.

Unbelievably, in the final hour, Simon Trummer had to pit and go behind the wall with the PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA after dominating the whole LMP2 race, handing the spoils to the similar Tower Motorsports machine of John Farano, Mikkel Jensen and Job van Uitert.

Porsche scored its first win of the IMSA SportsCar season in the GT Le Mans class after the leading BMW hit strife with less than 40 minutes to go.

Augusto Farfus had held a 10s advantage before his final stop, but the lead BMW M8 was punted onto the grass at the final turn by a prototype machine, and had to do a slow lap with his radiator full of grass debris and his left-front brake rotor on fire, obliging him to stop again to have the foreign matter removed.

That moved Fred Makowiecki’s Porsche 911 RSR into the lead, 3.5s ahead of Antonio Garcia’s Corvette, with the second Porsche of Laurens Vanthoor 7s further back.

But, when the penultimate restart came with seven minutes to go, Vanthoor collided with a GTD Lexus and went spinning off the track and into the wall.

This meant BMW got a consolation prize of a podium finish with Farfus as, up front, the Porsche of Makowiecki, Nick Tandy and Matt Bell stayed ahead to take the spoils.

Scuderia Corsa’s WeatherTech Ferrari 488 won the GT Daytona class, as Jeff Westphal held on ahead of the AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F of Jack Hawksworth through the final stint.

Petit Le Mans result – 460 laps

Pos Class Driver Team Car Gap
1 DPi R.van der Zande, R.Briscoe, S.Dixon Konica Minolta Cadillac DPi-V.R Cadillac 10h00m22.332s
2 DPi H.Castroneves, R.Taylor, A.Rossi Acura Team Penske Acura 0.429s
3 DPi J.P.Montoya, D.Cameron, S.Pagenaud Acura Team Penske Acura 1.236s
4 DPi S.Bourdais, T.Vautier, L.Duval JDC-Mustang Sampling Racing Cadillac 3.700s
5 DPi F.Nasr, P.Derani, F.Albuquerque Whelen Engineering Racing Cadillac 2 Laps
6 LMP2 J.Farano, M.Jensen, J.van Uitert Tower Motorsport by Starworks ORECA/Gibson 10 Laps
7 LMP2 J.McGuire, M.Bell, C.Braun Performance Tech Motorsports ORECA/Gibson 15 Laps
8 DPi J.Bomarito, H.Tincknell, R.H.-Reay Mazda Team Joest Mazda 19 Laps
9 LMP2 A.McCusker, J.Smiechowski, R.Hodes Inter Europol Competition ORECA/Gibson 19 Laps
10 GTLM N.Tandy, F.Makowiecki, M.Campbell Porsche GT Team Porsche 29 Laps
11 GTLM A.Garcia, J.Taylor, N.Catsburg Corvette Racing Chevrolet 29 Laps
12 GTLM J.Krohn, J.M.Edwards, A.Farfus BMW Team RLL BMW 29 Laps
13 GTLM O.Gavin, T.Milner, M.Fassler Corvette Racing Chevrolet 29 Laps
14 GTLM E.Bamber, L.Vanthoor, M.Jaminet Porsche GT Team Porsche 31 Laps
15 DPi O.Jarvis, T.Nunez, O.Pla Mazda Team Joest Mazda 33 Laps
16 LMP2 P.Kelly, S.Trummer, S.Huffaker PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA/Gibson Not running
17 GTD C.MacNeil, A.Balzan, J.Westphal Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 47 Laps
18 GTD J.Hawksworth, A.Telitz, M.De Quesada AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus 47 Laps
19 GTD A.Lally, J.Potter, S.Pumpelly GRT Magnus Racing Team Lamborghini 47 Laps
20 GTD R.Hardwick, P.Long, J.Heylen Wright Motorsports Porsche 47 Laps
21 GTD D.Olsen, Z.Robichon, L.Kern Pfaff Motorsports Porsche 47 Laps
22 GTD A.Parente, M.Goikhberg, T.Hindman Heinricher Racing with Meyer Shank Racing Acura 47 Laps
23 GTD B.Sellers, M.Snow, C.Lewis Paul Miller Racing Lamborghini 47 Laps
24 GTD F.Montecalvo, T.Bell, K.Kirkwood AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus Not running
25 GTD B.Auberlen, R.Foley, D.Machavern Turner Motorsport BMW 52 Laps
26 DPi C.Miller, M.Leist, G.Aubry JDC-Miller Motorsports Cadillac 54 Laps
27 GTLM B.Spengler, C.De Phillippi, C.Herta BMW Team RLL BMW 61 Laps
28 GTD M.Farnbacher, M.McMurry, S.Michimi Meyer Shank Racing with Curb-Agajanian Acura 61 Laps
29 GTD I.James, R.De Angelis, D.Turner Heart of Racing Team Aston Martin Not running
30 GTD G.Robinson, L.Aschenbach, B.Keating Riley Motorsports Mercedes Not running
31 GTD R.Ferriol, M.Winkelhock, A.Davis Team Hardpoint Audi Not running



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.