5th phase of municipality polls on Feb 28

DHAKA, Jan 19, 2020 (BSS) – The fifth phase of municipality
elections will be held on February 28 next as the Election Commission
(EC) today announced the polls schedule to 31 more municipalities.

EC Secretariat senior secretary Md Alamgir announced the election
schedule at Nirbachan Bhaban at the city’s Agargaon.

According to the election schedule, the last date for nomination
papers submission in these municipalities is February 2 next, while
the papers scrutiny will be on February 4, the last date of
nominations withdrawal is February 11 and symbols will be allotted on
February 12.

Elections to be held in the 31 municipalities in the fifth phase
are: Rangunia, Raozan, Mirsarai and Bariarhat of Chattogram, Raipur of
Laxmipur, Nachol of Chapainawabganj, Habiganj municipality, Dewanganj,
Islampur, Madarganj and Jamalpur Sadar of Jamalpur district, Charghat
and Durgapur of Rajshahi,

Bagura Sadar, Singair of Manikganj, Matlab and Shaharasti of
Chandpur, Keshabpur and Jashore Sadar of Jashore district, Shibchar
and Madaripur Sadar of Madaripur, Haragach of Rangpur, Brahmanbaria
Sadar of Brahmanbaria, Kaliganj and Maheshpur of Jhenaidah, Joypurhat
Sadar of Joypurhat, Nandail of Mymensingh, Bhola Sadar of Bhola
district and Kaliganj of Gazipur.

Alamgir said the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used in
all the municipalities of this phase and there will be no general
holiday on the day of elections.

Voting will continue from 8 am to 4 pm without any interval, he said.

Replying to a question, the EC secretary said people’s confidence
in EVM use has increased and that is why they are standing in long
queues to give their votes.

There are 329 municipalities in the country. Elections to 24
municipalities were held in first phase on December 28, while 60
municipalities on January 16 in second phase.

Polls will be held in 64 municipalities on January 30 next in third
phase, while 56 municipalities on February 14 in fourth phase.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *